Today's Posts

Search

Get the Weekly
Inkling
newsletter

Previous Issues

Splitcoaststampers's privacy policy

Get Social

Splitcoaststampers on InstagramLike Splitcoaststampers on FacebookFollow Splitcoaststampers on TwitterPit Splitcoaststampers on Pinterest

Sponsored Ads

Splitcoaststampers.com - the world's #1 papercrafting community
You're currently viewing Splitcoaststampers as a GUEST. We pride ourselves on being great hosts, but guests have limited access to some of our incredible artwork, our lively forums and other super cool features of the site! You can join our incredible papercrafting community at NO COST. So what are you waiting for?

Join the party at Splitcoaststampers today!

Old 05-15-2018, 11:17 AM   #1  
Glitter Queen

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Taping Dies onto paper for cutting

I am brand new to die cutting, and I'm having an issue with every tape I have tried.

First of all, I have the We R Memory Keepers Evolution Advanced, and I have to use the dies cutting side up with the paper on top, so it makes it very difficult to ensure accurate cutting unless I use tape (or a magnetic plate, which I would rather not spend money on).

I have tried washi tape and plain ole scotch tape, even rubbing them on my fingers or clothes to remove some of the stickiness, but the act of rolling them through the machine is causing everything to stick so much that it tends to ruin my paper.

Either I remove enough of the sticky to not mess up the paper, or I remove too much adhesive and they fall off when I have to flip them to put them on my plate to run them through. I have had a little success with flipping my whole sandwich over so that I can put the die on top of the paper, but it's awkward and difficult for me with this machine.

I have also tried just making sure the tape only touches the parts of paper I'm not using, but it's hard on these tiny dies, and not always possible if I'm planning to use both the cutout and the remaining paper.