In the Forums

Register

Today's Posts

Search

Get the Weekly
Inkling
newsletter





Previous Issues

Splitcoaststampers's privacy policy

Get Social

Splitcoaststampers on InstagramLike Splitcoaststampers on FacebookFollow Splitcoaststampers on TwitterPit Splitcoaststampers on Pinterest

Sponsored Ads


 
Splitcoaststampers.com - the world's #1 papercrafting community
You're currently viewing Splitcoaststampers as a GUEST. We pride ourselves on being great hosts, but guests have limited access to some of our incredible artwork, our lively forums and other super cool features of the site! You can join our incredible papercrafting community at NO COST. So what are you waiting for?

Join the party at Splitcoaststampers today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-17-2005, 02:41 PM   #1
Pearl-ExPert
 
kestril00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: A few hours east of Forks
Posts: 2,120
Default Signature question

I've been trying to edit a line of white space out of my signature so it would only be 4 lines long, but the signature editor keeps telling me my fonts are too big. My signature looks like 12 point to me, and when I paste it into Word, Word says its 12 point. Can you please tell me what I'm missing? TIA
__________________
Search and Earn Gift Cards, etc. with SwagBucks!
kestril00 is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2005, 02:44 PM   #2
SCS Founder
 
splitcoaststampers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,782
Default

others are starting to report similar experiences. try selecting the ENTIRE block of text (do CTRL-A to be sure), and setting the size smaller. you may just have a stray character or two (even spaces count) that's set to a larger size.
__________________
- Daven

Needs a sig
splitcoaststampers is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2005, 05:31 PM   #3
Matboard Maniac
 
falconer5dance's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 214
Default me too!

I cannot change my signature line either. I hit ctrl-A, select size 1----then the message tells me the font size is too big....

I have more than 4 lines, too....it won't let me change that either!
__________________
Debbie
If Dance Were Any Easier, It Would Be Called Football!
falconer5dance is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2005, 05:44 PM   #4
SCS Founder
 
splitcoaststampers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,782
Default

Quote:

Originally Posted by falconer5dance
I cannot change my signature line either. I hit ctrl-A, select size 1----then the message tells me the font size is too big....

I have more than 4 lines, too....it won't let me change that either!
kay, try it now.
__________________
- Daven

Needs a sig
splitcoaststampers is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2005, 06:38 PM   #5
Mad Swapper
 
bekster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,877
Default

I am having trouble changing my signature, too. Same problems as above. HELP!
__________________
Becky
My Gallery
bekster is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2005, 06:46 PM   #6
SCS Founder
 
splitcoaststampers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,782
Default

hmm, I'm beginning to think this was a big waste of time. like, it'll prevent you from creating a "bad" signature, but if you've already got one it doesn't know what to do.

anyone *successfully* made changes to their signature today?
__________________
- Daven

Needs a sig
splitcoaststampers is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2005, 06:49 PM   #7
Stazon Splitcoast
 
jbalcer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: South Central Texas
Posts: 30,082
Default

I just changed mine.
__________________
Jenn Balcer
My Blog
jbalcer is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2005, 06:49 PM   #8
Stazon Splitcoast
 
jbalcer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: South Central Texas
Posts: 30,082
Default

Ooh and I'm a bad girl, too. Five lines.
__________________
Jenn Balcer
My Blog
jbalcer is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2005, 06:52 PM   #9
Mad Swapper
 
bekster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,877
Default

Mine changed to a certain degree, but I couldn't do everything I tried. If I changed the "My Gallery" font to smaller, it would give me the error about using a font that is too big. I guess this is good enough, afterall that's about everything I need, isn't it??? At least I got the PURPLE right!
__________________
Becky
My Gallery
bekster is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2005, 06:54 PM   #10
SCS Founder
 
splitcoaststampers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,782
Default

Quote:

Originally Posted by jbalcer
I just changed mine.
you're special. you get 100 lines and UNLIMITED font size.
__________________
- Daven

Needs a sig
splitcoaststampers is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2005, 06:55 PM   #11
SCS Founder
 
splitcoaststampers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,782
Default

what I mean is, if your sig is outside the boundaries of what it allows - 4 lines or larger than 14 point, editing your sig is gonna *not* work. lousy programmers.
__________________
- Daven

Needs a sig
splitcoaststampers is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2005, 05:23 AM   #12
Splitcoast Dirty Dozen Alumni
Splitcoast Gallery Moderator
 
kthaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 24,128
Default

I had problems with fonts yesterday too (even tried selecting the smallest font size), but once I removed all the size coding and it was fine.
__________________
Karen
{ Gallery | Blog }

Help us create a StampinUp Gallery Index
kthaman is online now  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2005, 05:28 AM   #13
Matboard Maniac
 
falconer5dance's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 214
Default

I was able to "shorten" my area----but the font size still wouldn't change.....I'll take kthaman's clue for the font size and try that....
__________________
Debbie
If Dance Were Any Easier, It Would Be Called Football!
falconer5dance is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2005, 07:54 AM   #14
Stazon Splitcoast
 
lacyquilter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 36,281
Default

I changed mine as soon as I read your little blurb. No problems.
__________________
Melody ~ Isaiah 40:31 ~ Fan Club Member ~ gallery ~ FS620 lacyquiltercome join the Alphabet Challenge ~ My GOD can do amazing things. Ephesians 3:20
lacyquilter is online now  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2005, 08:05 AM   #15
Mad Swapper
 
clmcdm1996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 1,877
Default

I am trying to change mine, but it keeps telling me the font size is too big. I tried using Veranda and 2 font like you suggested, but it still won't let me. I've even tried deleting my sig line and starting over, but it still says too big. Any suggestions?
Cris
__________________
Cris
Wife to Chris, Mama to Aidan

clmcdm1996 is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2005, 09:01 AM   #16
Mad Swapper
 
clmcdm1996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 1,877
Default

Okay for some reason it worked now. It had something to do with the button on the top left with the blue A's with the red X through them. I highlighted my text and clicked it, and then hit save siggy, and it worked.
__________________
Cris
Wife to Chris, Mama to Aidan

clmcdm1996 is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 01:24 PM   #17
Matboard Maniac
 
StampaLady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Under the sea
Posts: 222
Default

I have just updated my signature to a smaller size fonts. I was having the same problem as the others so I just retyped them and use the smaller fonts. Hope it works!!!
__________________
Fida
Da Gallery
No kids, no pets but plenty rubber stamps!!!
StampaLady is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 06:03 PM   #18
Stazon Splitcoast
 
tinadoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 12,640
Default

I totally deleted my signature. I entered it again using the smallest font available and only 4 lines. It keeps saying the font is too big and that I am only allowed 4 lines??
__________________
Tina
tinadoran is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 06:32 PM   #19
Proud Fan Club Member
Creative Crew SU Design Team Alumni
 
jeanstamping2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Meredosia Illinois
Posts: 14,601
Question Ugly Gallery line

Sorry for the last post I did not know my Gallery line was [email protected]@king better.

Thanks to who ever did this....

Woo Hoo SCS!!!!!!
__________________
Nancy ** Stuff I create **
Creative Crew Member 2014
Past Design Team Member of :Clear and Simple: & Jessica Lynn Originals
jeanstamping2 is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 07:15 PM   #20
SCS Founder
 
splitcoaststampers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,782
Default

Quote:

Originally Posted by tinadoran
I totally deleted my signature. I entered it again using the smallest font available and only 4 lines. It keeps saying the font is too big and that I am only allowed 4 lines??
your signature may not have been completely empty. try it again now.
__________________
- Daven

Needs a sig
splitcoaststampers is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 07:22 PM   #21
Stazon Splitcoast
 
tinadoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 12,640
Default

Quote:

Originally Posted by splitcoaststampers
your signature may not have been completely empty. try it again now.
I just tried it...using verdana font size 1.
It is still saying that my font is too big?
Thanks for your time Daven
tinadoran is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 07:32 PM   #22
SCS Founder
 
splitcoaststampers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,782
Default

well hmm, what browser are you using?
__________________
- Daven

Needs a sig
splitcoaststampers is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 08:40 PM   #23
Stazon Splitcoast
 
tinadoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 12,640
Default

Quote:

Originally Posted by splitcoaststampers
well hmm, what browser are you using?
Microsoft Internet explorer....I do not know what version...but it is relatively new I think because our computer is less than 1 yr old.
tinadoran is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2005, 03:50 AM   #24
Stazon Splitcoast
 
tinadoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 12,640
Default

I got a signature this morning

Funny thing....if I use the smallest font size available (1)..in any font style...it says..

The following errors occurred when this message was submitted:
  1. The font size you are using is too large. You are limited to using a maximum font size of 14 in your signature.
But if I bump up the size to 2 , it is ok.

Works for me

Thanks again....and have a wonderful holiday!!
__________________
Tina
tinadoran is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2005, 06:04 AM   #25
Stazon Splitcoast
 
Sairabee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 18,564
Default

I've tried all of this, and it still won't work. My font size is 2, and I am trying to change it to three lines. It tells me my font size is too big and that I have more than four lines. I can't get it to work no matter what I try...
__________________
sarah ~ {my blog}
mum to two boys - one in heaven, one on earth
lebe gut, lache oft, liebe viel
Sairabee is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2005, 07:25 AM   #26
Stazon Splitcoast
 
Sairabee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 18,564
Default

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sairabee
I've tried all of this, and it still won't work. My font size is 2, and I am trying to change it to three lines. It tells me my font size is too big and that I have more than four lines. I can't get it to work no matter what I try...
Ok, I'm not sure what I did, but I got it to work - sort of. Except that if I do more than 2 lines it tells me that I have more than 4 lines. Not sure what's going on.
__________________
sarah ~ {my blog}
mum to two boys - one in heaven, one on earth
lebe gut, lache oft, liebe viel
Sairabee is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2005, 09:15 AM   #27
~~Triple S Threat~~
 
Farmwife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Farm Country
Posts: 55,180
Default

I can't get mine to change either. It keeps saying font size is too big. I even tried to delete my gallery line.


OK... got it to work. Made one line size 2 instead of a 1!
__________________


Last edited by Farmwife; 12-20-2005 at 09:23 AM.. Reason: finally got it to work
Farmwife is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2005, 09:28 AM   #28
Proud Fan Club Member
Creative Crew SU Design Team Alumni
 
jeanstamping2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Meredosia Illinois
Posts: 14,601
Default

When I changed my sig. the other day. I try making it smaller "1" and it told me that my font was too big.

So I just changed it to "2" and it worked fine.

I just smush everything together....So now it looks alittle smaller.
__________________
Nancy ** Stuff I create **
Creative Crew Member 2014
Past Design Team Member of :Clear and Simple: & Jessica Lynn Originals
jeanstamping2 is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
signature question StephStamps Site Issues Archive 4 09-08-2005 06:31 PM
Have you updated your signature? StampinPixie General Stamping Talk 21 04-27-2005 08:14 PM