In the Forums

Register

Today's Posts

Search

Get the Weekly
Inkling
newsletter





Previous Issues

Splitcoaststampers's privacy policy

Get Social

Splitcoaststampers on InstagramLike Splitcoaststampers on FacebookFollow Splitcoaststampers on TwitterPit Splitcoaststampers on Pinterest

Sponsored Ads


 
Splitcoaststampers.com - the world's #1 papercrafting community
You're currently viewing Splitcoaststampers as a GUEST. We pride ourselves on being great hosts, but guests have limited access to some of our incredible artwork, our lively forums and other super cool features of the site! You can join our incredible papercrafting community at NO COST. So what are you waiting for?

Join the party at Splitcoaststampers today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2007, 04:32 PM   #1
Insane Embellisher
 
LisaDRHC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 841
Question adding a link?

I really did try to find it on my own! How do you add a link into your posts (i.e. a link to a gallery sample in a thread post). I will become computer literate, I will become computer literate, I will become...
__________________
Lisa


My Gallery

LisaDRHC is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 07:38 PM   #2
Insane Embellisher
 
Pianolady1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 981
Default

I would like to know this too. Hope someone replies.
__________________
Judy


"The name of the Lord is a strong tower; the
righteous run to it and are safe."
Pianolady1026 is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 07:46 PM   #3
Pearl-ExPert
 
avonlea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: .:O Canada:.
Posts: 2,532
Default I hope this helps!

If you just want to post a link in a Forum thread...
  • go to the page to which you want to link
  • copy the 'URL' address (from the address bar up at the very top)
  • paste it in your post

But, is that what you mean? Or do you want to know how to 'rename' a link and replace the long 'ugly' link with words? If so, there are some threads with instructions on how to do this.
Please tell us if this is or isn't what you meant.
__________________
Need HELP on SCS? *click here*!

Want to join the SCS Fan Club?
avonlea is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 07:55 PM   #4
Hardware Hotshot
 
krabearkub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Just south of the twin cities(MN)
Posts: 4,155
Default

Here you go! this thread has an answer to your questions:
http:////www.splitcoaststampers.com/...ad.php?t=50263
__________________
Kurtis Amundson // stampinkub.com
Design Team: Gina K. Designs

Question // If art is subjective, then why are we objective in making it?
krabearkub is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 07:55 PM   #5
Hardware Hotshot
 
krabearkub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Just south of the twin cities(MN)
Posts: 4,155
Default

someone beat me.....
__________________
Kurtis Amundson // stampinkub.com
Design Team: Gina K. Designs

Question // If art is subjective, then why are we objective in making it?
krabearkub is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 07:58 PM   #6
Pearl-ExPert
 
avonlea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: .:O Canada:.
Posts: 2,532
Default

Quote:

Originally Posted by krabearkub
Here you go! this thread has an answer to your questions:
http:////www.splitcoaststampers.com/...ad.php?t=50263
Pfft! Shame on you! You didn't rename your link!

And you beat me to the other thread...so now we're tied!
__________________
Need HELP on SCS? *click here*!

Want to join the SCS Fan Club?
avonlea is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2007, 07:50 AM   #7
Stazon Splitcoast
 
deipara's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Out and About
Posts: 14,457
Default Cannot link gallery photos in post

Adding on in here. Man, I seem to be running into no amount of trouble with these photos!

I want to link up to the Limited Supply Challenge thread that my cards were made for. The cards are uploaded, sitting pretty in my gallery and their category and I have tried since 6:15pm EDT to link them courtesy of the mod's instructions at the beginning of the thread.

I received a message after hitting Submit that I couldn't post a URL until after I had posted 3 or more times. I understood getting this message at this time, I had only "posted" - aka wrote - 2 times. I quickly added more posts around and tried again.

No dice.

I tried off and on over the course of the night, always receiving the same comment. Someone said that it had happened to her and that SCS suggested she clean out her cache. I had turned off my computer for the night, cleaned out the cache - and still nothing.

Am I doing something wrong - like not allowing myself to post in some sort of code?

Help!!
deipara is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2007, 09:49 AM   #8
Insane Embellisher
 
LisaDRHC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 841
Default

Click Here for a special thank you.
__________________
Lisa


My Gallery

LisaDRHC is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2007, 09:50 AM   #9
Insane Embellisher
 
LisaDRHC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 841
Default

Oh my gosh, it worked!!!!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
__________________
Lisa


My Gallery

LisaDRHC is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2007, 02:28 PM   #10
Hardware Hotshot
 
krabearkub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Just south of the twin cities(MN)
Posts: 4,155
Default

there seems to be a few people that have trouble posting links even when they have 20 or so posts. Make sure that your three posts are in the forums and not comments in the gallery or they may not count.

Quote:

Originally Posted by deipara
Adding on in here. Man, I seem to be running into no amount of trouble with these photos!

I want to link up to the Limited Supply Challenge thread that my cards were made for. The cards are uploaded, sitting pretty in my gallery and their category and I have tried since 6:15pm EDT to link them courtesy of the mod's instructions at the beginning of the thread.

I received a message after hitting Submit that I couldn't post a URL until after I had posted 3 or more times. I understood getting this message at this time, I had only "posted" - aka wrote - 2 times. I quickly added more posts around and tried again.

No dice.

I tried off and on over the course of the night, always receiving the same comment. Someone said that it had happened to her and that SCS suggested she clean out her cache. I had turned off my computer for the night, cleaned out the cache - and still nothing.

Am I doing something wrong - like not allowing myself to post in some sort of code?

Help!!
__________________
Kurtis Amundson // stampinkub.com
Design Team: Gina K. Designs

Question // If art is subjective, then why are we objective in making it?
krabearkub is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 12:35 AM   #11
Glitter Queen
 
ClareyFairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 12
Default

This is the problem I have been having too - it keeps saying that I need to have posted three times before I can add a link. I have made more than three posts, cleared my cache but it's still coming up with the same message. Has anyone got any other ideas of things I could try ?

Thank you

Quote:

Originally Posted by deiparaView Post
Adding on in here. Man, I seem to be running into no amount of trouble with these photos!

I want to link up to the Limited Supply Challenge thread that my cards were made for. The cards are uploaded, sitting pretty in my gallery and their category and I have tried since 6:15pm EDT to link them courtesy of the mod's instructions at the beginning of the thread.

I received a message after hitting Submit that I couldn't post a URL until after I had posted 3 or more times. I understood getting this message at this time, I had only "posted" - aka wrote - 2 times. I quickly added more posts around and tried again.

No dice.

I tried off and on over the course of the night, always receiving the same comment. Someone said that it had happened to her and that SCS suggested she clean out her cache. I had turned off my computer for the night, cleaned out the cache - and still nothing.

Am I doing something wrong - like not allowing myself to post in some sort of code?

Help!!
__________________
You can find my blog here
ClareyFairy is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 04:38 AM   #12
Hardware Hotshot
 
krabearkub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Just south of the twin cities(MN)
Posts: 4,155
Default

Quote:

Originally Posted by ClareyFairyView Post
This is the problem I have been having too - it keeps saying that I need to have posted three times before I can add a link. I have made more than three posts, cleared my cache but it's still coming up with the same message. Has anyone got any other ideas of things I could try ?

Thank you
it doesn't always recognize that you have three posts....not sure why???

The only thing I know of that will fix it is to boost your post count in the forums.
__________________
Kurtis Amundson // stampinkub.com
Design Team: Gina K. Designs

Question // If art is subjective, then why are we objective in making it?
krabearkub is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 04:51 AM   #13
Glitter Queen
 
ClareyFairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 12
Default

I'll get posting and see if it helps (this is the first one!)

Thank you
__________________
You can find my blog here
ClareyFairy is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 04:54 PM   #14
Crimping Master
 
kynara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,235
Question editing my swap

I'm having this problem with editing my swap. I have a couple of links to tutorials in my swap description and when I tried to edit it to add the players it's telling me "You are only allowed to post URLs to other sites after you have made 3 posts or more.". I tried taking out the links (the hyperlink to it) and it still give me that error. I really need to be able to edit my swap. What should I do?

Thanks,
kynara is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2007, 12:50 PM   #15
Hardware Hotshot
 
krabearkub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Just south of the twin cities(MN)
Posts: 4,155
Default

Hi Kary,

I would PM one of the MODs in the Swap forum and ask them to edit the post and try to boost your post count higher.
__________________
Kurtis Amundson // stampinkub.com
Design Team: Gina K. Designs

Question // If art is subjective, then why are we objective in making it?
krabearkub is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 06:54 AM   #16
Compulsive Stamper
 
Adria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Somewhere in Ohio, in a tiny little home bursting at the seams with love!
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:

Originally Posted by krabearkubView Post
there seems to be a few people that have trouble posting links even when they have 20 or so posts. Make sure that your three posts are in the forums and not comments in the gallery or they may not count.
I have no clue what any of you are talking about....why cant i do this???
__________________
Look what I did!
Visit my BLOG
Adria is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 07:10 AM   #17
Compulsive Stamper
 
Adria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Somewhere in Ohio, in a tiny little home bursting at the seams with love!
Posts: 40
Default OH, I think I know now....

HEY! I did IT!
check it out.

but cant do it to my signature (because of the "BB"?) and I want to do it in my descriptions in my galleries.
__________________
Look what I did!
Visit my BLOG
Adria is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 06:14 AM   #18
Splitcoast Dirty Dozen
 
justampin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sand Lake, NY
Posts: 4,601
Default

now lets see if it worked.

//www.splitcoaststampers.com/gallery/photo/799424?cat=500&ppuser=14062"]my card[/URL]
__________________
Heather
My Blog
My Gallery
Pinterest

Last edited by justampin; 02-08-2008 at 08:36 AM..
justampin is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 06:16 AM   #19
Splitcoast Dirty Dozen
 
justampin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sand Lake, NY
Posts: 4,601
Default

Won't work now I don't have a clue!
__________________
Heather
My Blog
My Gallery
Pinterest
justampin is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 06:35 AM   #20
Stazon Splitcoast
 
sassyat30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: WI
Posts: 14,831
Default

Quote:

Originally Posted by justampinView Post
Won't work now I don't have a clue!
Heather, you did the process correctly, but when you go to add the URL in the hyperlink box, you have to delete the http:// that's already there.

If you check your link, it has two http:// ~ that's why it won't work.
sassyat30 is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 08:30 AM   #21
Splitcoast Dirty Dozen
 
justampin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sand Lake, NY
Posts: 4,601
Default

Thanks Sara now I will try again.
__________________
Heather
My Blog
My Gallery
Pinterest
justampin is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 08:40 AM   #22
Splitcoast Dirty Dozen
 
justampin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sand Lake, NY
Posts: 4,601
Default

my card
__________________
Heather
My Blog
My Gallery
Pinterest
justampin is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 08:41 AM   #23
Splitcoast Dirty Dozen
 
justampin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sand Lake, NY
Posts: 4,601
Default

It worked. Now I will have to practice a bit more so it sinks in but it is pretty easy. Thanks Sara for sorting out my problem.
__________________
Heather
My Blog
My Gallery
Pinterest
justampin is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 10:06 AM   #24
Stazon Splitcoast
 
sassyat30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: WI
Posts: 14,831
Default

Quote:

Originally Posted by justampinView Post
It worked. Now I will have to practice a bit more so it sinks in but it is pretty easy. Thanks Sara for sorting out my problem.

You're welcome.
sassyat30 is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off