In the Forums

Register

Today's Posts

Search

Get the Weekly
Inkling
newsletter





Previous Issues

Splitcoaststampers's privacy policy

Get Social

Splitcoaststampers on InstagramLike Splitcoaststampers on FacebookFollow Splitcoaststampers on TwitterPit Splitcoaststampers on Pinterest

Sponsored Ads


 
Splitcoaststampers.com - the world's #1 papercrafting community
You're currently viewing Splitcoaststampers as a GUEST. We pride ourselves on being great hosts, but guests have limited access to some of our incredible artwork, our lively forums and other super cool features of the site! You can join our incredible papercrafting community at NO COST. So what are you waiting for?

Join the party at Splitcoaststampers today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-03-2004, 01:49 PM   #1
Rubber Obsessor
 
Mommy2two's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 120
Default What the heck is "exception status" from UPS?

I'm waiting on two orders to arrive via UPS and the online tracking says that they are in Richmond BC but that they are in "exception" status and will requite special customs entry. Can anybody translate that???

Help!
Mommy2two is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 02:08 PM   #2
Dirty Dozen Alumni
 
StarLitStudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Flemington, NJ
Posts: 3,860
Default

I had that too - with my overnight package from SU yesterday! It arrived a day late.

Never saw that statement until yesterday.

My other package from SU - sent 2nd day - due today - has same status that you describe....it's after 6pm here on the east coast and I still have not heard the UPS truck brakes. This late is a bad sign...
__________________
Cindy Lyles
"What we do in life, echoes in eternity."
StarLitStudio is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 02:09 PM   #3
Gallery Gazer
 
Brownee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mount Juliet, TN
Posts: 6,970
Default

I had that on an order last week. It was because they had left it at the depot place when my UPS guy came, so it was going to have to be delivered the next day! Bummer...
__________________
Keva

We shouldn't have expectations of others that we, ourselves, could not fulfill.

my blog: hownowbrownkow
Brownee is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 03:46 PM   #4
Creative Crew SU Design Team Alumni
 
NavyWyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Southeastern Kentucky
Posts: 8,941
Default

I had an "exception" on a delivery a couple of weeks ago, UPS was closed here in Tampa because of the hurricane coming, so Jacksonville couldn't send it here. That was a BUMMER!! In Richmond, they recently had a HUGE flood due to another hurricane, that may be the reason for your package.
__________________
"And let us consider one another in order to stir up love and good works," Hebrews 10:24
NavyWyf is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 03:52 PM   #5
Rubber Obsessor
 
Mommy2two's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 120
Default

Well it is actually Richmond British Columbia Canada, so I can't blame a hurricane. I was mainly worried because I believe that this is where it crosses the border. I just hate to have too many delays as I have so much already on backorder for my customers and I had no idea what "exception" would mean. It seems like such a vague description!

Sometimes it is almost a curse that you can track the package because I become obsessive about it.

Mommy2two is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 03:53 PM   #6
Creative Crew SU Design Team Alumni
 
NavyWyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Southeastern Kentucky
Posts: 8,941
Default

Oh, no!! I hope it clears customs quickly and comes to you!! I would call that UPS number listed online, and ask them. They can tell you exactly what is going on. HTH!

Debbi
__________________
"And let us consider one another in order to stir up love and good works," Hebrews 10:24
NavyWyf is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 04:23 PM   #7
Stazon Splitcoast
 
heresrita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Take off, eh? - to the great white north
Posts: 16,809
Default

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mommy2two
Well it is actually Richmond British Columbia Canada, so I can't blame a hurricane. I was mainly worried because I believe that this is where it crosses the border. I just hate to have too many delays as I have so much already on backorder for my customers and I had no idea what "exception" would mean. It seems like such a vague description!

Sometimes it is almost a curse that you can track the package because I become obsessive about it.

Hi. Mine come to Canada, too. It usually says it's in Richmond (customs) for at least 2-3 days. Actually, I have had the packaged delivered to me and then I went to check the status, out of curiosity, and it still said it was in Richmond.

Can't count on the site to be up-to-date.
__________________
~rita~
heresrita is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 04:28 PM   #8
Stazon Splitcoast
 
heresrita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Take off, eh? - to the great white north
Posts: 16,809
Default

Oh, and back orders take sooooooo long. They get sent to Calgary as one big order and then redistributed from there. I just got some cardstock that was on backorder. I had ordered during the catty retirement.
__________________
~rita~
heresrita is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 05:00 PM   #9
Rubber Obsessor
 
Stampin'Mumof2Girls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 172
Default

I'm in Saskatchewan and awhile back I had an order come thru with this "exception" thingy. I finally called on it because it was delayed longer than it should have been in my opinion. Turns out, it was something to do with customs----they pick the odd parcel to check out more thoroughly and my parcel had to pass thru customs TWICE before they would let it go on its way to me. UGH!!! All this security nonsense----sometimes they really should put more effort into checking out parcels that really LOOK suspicious and not all their effort into stampin' parcels! LOL!!

If you are concerned about it, just call UPS. They were extremely helpful to me and really nice to deal with.
__________________
~Sherri~
Stampin'Mumof2Girls is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 05:03 PM   #10
Rubber Obsessor
 
Stampin'Mumof2Girls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 172
Default

Also wanted to add, things are really really slow with shipping right now in general. I placed an order on Aug. 31 and they said it was shipped yet on the tracking page, it says it hasn't even left Salt Lake yet!!

UGH!! Trust this would happen when I have a customer waiting on something in that order.

I did see on Stampin'Up! website that they are having some troubles right now---hope it's remedied soon!!!
__________________
~Sherri~
Stampin'Mumof2Girls is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off