Splitcoaststampers

Splitcoaststampers (https://www.splitcoaststampers.com/forums/)
-   General Stamping Talk (https://www.splitcoaststampers.com/forums/general-stamping-talk-17/)
-   -   Mixing different coloring media? (https://www.splitcoaststampers.com/forums/general-stamping-talk-17/mixing-different-coloring-media-563337/)

mobrien207 10-28-2012 03:47 PM

Mixing different coloring media?

Have any of you mixed different media when coloring? Like alcohol markers with distress markers with water color pencils or crayons? I don't even know if it would work or what the best ink would be do stamp with. I'm just starting out and don't have all the shades of a color I'd like in one implement, so I thought perhaps I could "mix".

As always, thanks for your input.
Mob

cobby 10-28-2012 06:37 PM

Perhaps do a search on "Mixed Media" to see what's out there. You can try here on SCS and just "Google" it to see what comes up.

the first thing that pops to mind is that of course you can mix coloring tools. Such as pencils and markers and even crayons on the same piece. But beware of how each "functions" if that makes sense. For instance, distress ink ( even in the markers ) will react with water, while alcohol markers do not. Some black inks that you might stamp your image with won't bleed with an alcohol marker but would with a distress marker. Those kind of limitations are all I can think of for you to consider before diving in an "mixing it up"! Have fun!

jackie1 10-28-2012 06:57 PM

I have mixed copics with SU markers, prisma pencils and Lyra pencils without any problems. They do recommend that you do your copic coloring first before using the other coloring items so that you don't ruin the copics. I use memento ink for stamping and I have never had a problem with it running. For watercoloring I usually use stazon ink, but I don't use copics with this ink as I have had it stain the marker tip.

cat_woman 10-28-2012 09:51 PM