Splitcoaststampers

Splitcoaststampers (https://www.splitcoaststampers.com/forums/)
-   General Stamping Talk (https://www.splitcoaststampers.com/forums/general-stamping-talk-17/)
-   -   Getting Started (https://www.splitcoaststampers.com/forums/general-stamping-talk-17/getting-started-354144/)

annadcat 06-08-2008 06:33 PM

Getting Started

Hello,

I am just getting started stamping & am wondering about buying colored inks. I know I am going to place a SU order. My big question is whether to start with spots, large ink pads or markers. Initially I thought I would get markers & spots, but I am beginning to wonder if I will regret not getting full size later. Thoughts?

Thanks so much for any help. I have learned SOOO much already by just lurking here :)

indyemmert 06-08-2008 07:21 PM

I personally prefer the spots. To me, the full-size pads are just bulky and hard to use. Plus, you get a whole color family of spots at one time. One tip for you if you do get the spots: I turn my stamp upside-down on the table and hold the spot to ink the stamp. That way I can see the stamp and make sure it's inked properly.

Gemini Mum 06-08-2008 07:47 PM

I'm new to stamping too (this hobby is like craft cocaine - addictive and expensive! LOL) and I've started with the spots too. It is a good way to see which colours in a "colour family" you'll actually use, IMHO. So far I've got the spots in the Earth Elements and Soft Subtles. I neeeeed them all!

strappystamper 06-08-2008 07:58 PM

I started out with the spots and then bought the full size pad of the colors I reached for on a regular basis. That way you start out having all of the colors and you're not limited to only a few projects! Hope that helps.

stampwithdiane 06-08-2008 09:11 PM