Splitcoaststampers

Splitcoaststampers (https://www.splitcoaststampers.com/forums/)
-   General Stamping Talk (https://www.splitcoaststampers.com/forums/general-stamping-talk-17/)
-   -   Brads or Eyelets? (https://www.splitcoaststampers.com/forums/general-stamping-talk-17/brads-eyelets-171834/)

PA Scrapper 08-05-2006 02:32 PM

Brads or Eyelets?

I am totally new to stamping, and I don't know which one to start with. Any recommendations for colors that you seem to use more? Any size suggestions?

Thanks for the help!

amy

blest2bstampin 08-05-2006 02:50 PM

I prefer brads because they require only a punch. Eyelets need a setting tool, hammer & mat. Brads look more finished to me and seem to be more in vogue. JMHO

Julesiana 08-05-2006 02:51 PM

BRADS! Hands down.

Much faster, much less equipment.

I used to use a craft blade to make a small slit and then push my brad through. That worked very well, but now my favorite way to use them is with a 1/16" hole punch.

SU! now has so many colorful brads (and the vintage style ones too) plus they are easy to color with embossing powder.

HTH

duluthscrapper 08-05-2006 03:03 PM

Brads are definetely easier to use. The eyelets require an eyelet setter, but in some cases I do like to use those. It depends on the project I am working on.
But just starting out I would start with brads.

indyemmert 08-05-2006 03:08 PM

I think if you start out with metallic brads such as SU's vintage brads assortment they will go with just about anything until you discover what colors you like best.

amysings 08-05-2006 04:12 PM

I have and use both, but brads are by far simpler to use.

thuskins 08-05-2006 04:21 PM

I have and use both too, but must admit I reach for brads more often than eyelets.

jmhoffmann 08-05-2006 04:34 PM

Ditto for brads...much easier and quicker to use. I do use eyelets too but much prefer my brads and now they are in so many cute shapes and sizes.

Hugs, Joanne :wink:

stampin' andrea 08-05-2006 05:13 PM