Today's Posts

Search

Get the Weekly
Inkling
newsletter

Previous Issues

Splitcoaststampers's privacy policy

Get Social

Splitcoaststampers on InstagramLike Splitcoaststampers on FacebookFollow Splitcoaststampers on TwitterPit Splitcoaststampers on Pinterest

Sponsored Ads

Splitcoaststampers.com - the world's #1 papercrafting community
You're currently viewing Splitcoaststampers as a GUEST. We pride ourselves on being great hosts, but guests have limited access to some of our incredible artwork, our lively forums and other super cool features of the site! You can join our incredible papercrafting community at NO COST. So what are you waiting for?

Join the party at Splitcoaststampers today!

Old 01-07-2017, 07:18 PM   #1  
Compulsive Stamper

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Starting Off? - Suggestions?

Ok, so I'm a newbie to all of this, but have a spouse who is really into crafting - All things...

I've looked on, watched her make things, and it always turns out nice. We have an entire craft room filled with more supplies than I could count - And I'm envious she has so much fun with it all.

So I've been trying my hand at making things, even creating a custom art journal with metal embossing and some stamping.

But in the end, though everything looks "ok" - It's all disappointing to me when I see all these amazing layered stamps, ATC's and tags, etc. on Pinterest.

And I think the trouble is that I have no technique. I don't know what colors go well together, I don't know how to pick one background over another, or how to blend properly, focal points... None of that.

I've watched Youtube videos and tutorials, but to be honest, it's a bit difficult to really learn when everyone has their own opinions or ways of doing things, so I've decided I need to find a good course that teaches me the fundamentals and tools I'll need to get better at all of this.