Splitcoaststampers

Splitcoaststampers (https://www.splitcoaststampers.com/forums/)
-   General Stamping Talk (https://www.splitcoaststampers.com/forums/general-stamping-talk-17/)
-   -   An Alarming Trend at Ebay (https://www.splitcoaststampers.com/forums/general-stamping-talk-17/alarming-trend-ebay-589998/)

Kandfoto.com 07-21-2014 12:44 PM

An Alarming Trend at Ebay

I'm new to stamping and card making so I have been trying to build up my collection of stamps, dies, paper, inks, etc. I search the internet and Pinterest for card making ideas. However, some of the cards I like, and would like to make, are done with retired SU stamps, inks, etc. My "goto" source for those retired items is Ebay. But lately, I have found a somewhat disturbing trend of price doubling for stamps that have been retired. Are resellers buying the stamps, then flipping them on Ebay for a much higher price? I am not willing to buy an used stamp for double the price it originally sold for.

I have been watching on Ebay two SU stamps sets: Inspired by Nature and French Foliage. I can't believe the prices for these stamps.

Is this the new trend? Or can we find substitutes for these stamps.

SkyNacho 07-21-2014 01:12 PM

I'd hardly call it alarming.

Sellers can ask for any price they want. They don't appear to be getting anyone to buy at $60, but there are several closed buy-it-now listings that sold for between $30-40. Left to go on regular auction terms, the listings closed lower.

It might be annoying and frustrating, especially when you're looking for something you couldn't get the first time around. But high prices for scarce items is just Economics 101.

Buried Treasures 07-21-2014 01:21 PM

As a registered eBay member, you can search the Completed listings in an advanced search to see what certain items actually sold for, if they sold at all. You can also set up an automatic search on eBay so when your desired item becomes available for sale, you will receive an e-mail.