Splitcoaststampers

Splitcoaststampers (https://www.splitcoaststampers.com/forums/)
-   General Stamping Talk (https://www.splitcoaststampers.com/forums/general-stamping-talk-17/)
-   -   Acrylic Blocks (https://www.splitcoaststampers.com/forums/general-stamping-talk-17/acrylic-blocks-580175/)

HappyGirl 10-29-2013 06:17 AM

Acrylic Blocks

Are they all the same or does the brand matter? I've unmounted all my wood stamps and now realize I may need a few more acrylic blocks. How many do I really need and what sizes? Also, which brand is best? Thanks,

coffeegal85 10-29-2013 07:22 AM

Stampin Up! They have a clear block starter kit for $20, which includes the 3 most used sizes. I have this set, and have yet to encounter a stamp that didn't fit onto one of the three (but I'm still a newbie). If you have some bigger stamps, you could always add a clear block E or F to the starter kit.

I had the Fiskars Stamp Block set to start off with, and there really is no comparison between the two. Stampin' Up is heaver and easier to hold, thus producing clearer images IMO.

Crafter 4 Life 10-29-2013 09:49 AM

I have bought my acrylic blocks from Michael's/JoAnn and stamping stores. I like the ones with a grip-groove on the sides or the ones with scallop edges. I also like my blocks to be thick. Cling stamps should be able to be used with most acrylic blocks. I like SU products but if I can find similar products at places where I can use a coupon, I buy there. The sizes you buy depend on the size of your cling stamps.

I also have the Fiskars Stamp Press (?) and have been using it quite often recently. It's the acrylic plate with grid lines and 4 sponge feet.

DianneB1030 10-29-2013 10:17 AM

As much as I love Tim Holtz, one thing I really disliked were his acrylic blocks, very thin, more of an acrylic plate. I have and love the SU blocks. I gave away the Tim Holtz set.

cbet 10-29-2013 10:55 AM