View Single Post
Old 09-03-2009, 05:41 PM   #744
JanTInk
Dirty Dozen Alumni
SU Creative Crew Alumni

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs Nickel View Post
Evalou, With ALL DUE RESPECT, Maybe SUP is offering YOU enough for your style of creativity and crafting. I, however, have never considered myself a crafter. I am an artist with various awards ranging to national ones in fields other than paper. 'Crafting' is different from 'artistry'.
As someone who also is an "artist", however you want to define that, having taken a degree in art and having worked in many different media, I can tell you that sometimes the most creative moments I have are when I only have a limited amount of supplies and tools available to work with. I've been stamping since 1996 and scrapbooking since 1998. Some of my most creative layouts were done in 1999, when there was hardly ANYTHING available to work with. I had to paper piece and find interesting ways of making the limited supplies I had work for me. THAT is creativity. That is art.

Maybe SU! is the wrong place for you, because as a demonstrator, I try to encourage the artist in all my customers. I don't feel I am better than they are just because I have a couple of letters after my name. Maybe that's not what you are trying to say, but it sure comes across that way. We all start out from the same place and hard work and determination can turn many a "crafter" into an "artist". Do a little search on this forum for the post "On Being Dirty Worthy"...that says all of what I really mean to say about that.