In the Forums

Register

Today's Posts

Search


Get the Weekly
Inkling
newsletter





Previous Issues

Get Social

Like Splitcoaststampers on Facebook Follow Splitcoaststampers on Twitter Watch Splitcoaststampers Videos on YouTube

Sponsored Ads


 
Splitcoaststampers.com - the world's #1 papercrafting community
You're currently viewing Splitcoaststampers as a GUEST. We pride ourselves on being great hosts, but guests have limited access to some of our incredible artwork, our lively forums and other super cool features of the site! You can join our incredible papercrafting community at NO COST. So what are you waiting for?

Join the party at Splitcoaststampers today!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-13-2012, 05:43 PM   #1
Die Cut Diva
 
cat_woman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,460
Default How to fix Silhouette Studio wonky Print & Cut

I know there are quite a few of us that have issues with Silhouette Studio print & cuts not lining up properly. I've worked out a method to compensate for the software's inaccuraccy as to where is cuts in relation to the printed image. I've posted it on my blog in this post.

I hope this helps someone, because I'm pretty thrilled with the results I'm getting using this method.
cat_woman is online now  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 06:25 PM   #2
Matboard Maniac
 
birdieluver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Eureka Springs, AR
Posts: 210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cat_woman View Post
I know there are quite a few of us that have issues with Silhouette Studio print & cuts not lining up properly. I've worked out a method to compensate for the software's inaccuraccy as to where is cuts in relation to the printed image. I've posted it on my blog in this post.

I hope this helps someone, because I'm pretty thrilled with the results I'm getting using this method.
I had one instance of my Cameo messing up a print and cut and as it cut further and further down the page, the cut was worse and worse. I had mentioned it on the Silhouette Plus forum and was told to change my packet size to 500 bytes instead of the 1000 that was the default it came with. I never did another thing and it's cut great after that.

I'm also a gadget lover and will get any new plaything I can afford!

Terry
birdieluver is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 09:41 PM   #3
Die Cut Diva
 
cat_woman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by birdieluver View Post
I had one instance of my Cameo messing up a print and cut and as it cut further and further down the page, the cut was worse and worse. I had mentioned it on the Silhouette Plus forum and was told to change my packet size to 500 bytes instead of the 1000 that was the default it came with. I never did another thing and it's cut great after that.

I'm also a gadget lover and will get any new plaything I can afford!

Terry
yeah, I wish it were that simple, but that didn't work. I think I'm stuck with the work-around until I can scratch up the money to buy my new Zing.
cat_woman is online now  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 04:59 AM   #4
Matboard Maniac
 
birdieluver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Eureka Springs, AR
Posts: 210
Default

What is the Zing?

Terry
birdieluver is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 10:50 AM   #5
Die Cut Diva
 
cat_woman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by birdieluver View Post
What is the Zing?

Terry
What is the Zing you ask? Well, its only the best cutter for crafting ever invented!! (we'll see if I say that a month or two after I get one ) There are loads of youtube videos on it, but this is the one that really sold me since I do mostly print & cut (digi stamps, die cuts with my digi papers, etc): Print and Cut on the KNK Zing.avi - YouTube
It has more cutting force than any "craft" cutter on the market so it can cut a lot of stuff (up to and including balsa wood). And its cutting bed is larger so it can cut up to 14" wide - so true 12x12 cuts. Its made by KNK and they've been around in the cutting machine business for a long time so they're reliable and reputable. And the machine is made of metal. I'm so looking forward to when I can get it. I'm still saving my pennies and it will be a couple more months before I can get one and hopefully by then the price will come down a little bit ($450 cdn right now).
cat_woman is online now  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 12:26 PM   #6
Matboard Maniac
 
birdieluver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Eureka Springs, AR
Posts: 210
Default

Oh dear!! I might see my Christmas present already....I can see into the future, you know...LOL!!

So with this workaround you have for print and cut Studio, does that mean there is no white outlines around cutouts? Are you using the Cameo with it?

Terry
birdieluver is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 12:28 PM   #7
Matboard Maniac
 
birdieluver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Eureka Springs, AR
Posts: 210
Default

I forgot to ask, do you have to use Make the Cut with the Zing?

Terry
birdieluver is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 01:02 PM   #8
Forum Fanatic
 
gale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 9,510
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by birdieluver View Post
I had one instance of my Cameo messing up a print and cut and as it cut further and further down the page, the cut was worse and worse. I had mentioned it on the Silhouette Plus forum and was told to change my packet size to 500 bytes instead of the 1000 that was the default it came with. I never did another thing and it's cut great after that.

I'm also a gadget lover and will get any new plaything I can afford!

Terry
Mine does that. How do I make that change?

never mind-found it in the general settings. thanks for this idea and also to the OP for the tutorial, which I bookmarked.
__________________
Wash: "A man walks down the street in that hat, people know he's not afraid of anything."
Jayne: "Da*n straight."


my blog -- my recipes ♥ Victoria's Avon Walk for Breast Cancer site ♥

Last edited by gale; 10-14-2012 at 01:08 PM..
gale is online now  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 04:08 PM   #9
Die Cut Diva
 
cat_woman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by birdieluver View Post
Oh dear!! I might see my Christmas present already....I can see into the future, you know...LOL!!

So with this workaround you have for print and cut Studio, does that mean there is no white outlines around cutouts? Are you using the Cameo with it?

Terry
Quote:
Originally Posted by birdieluver View Post
I forgot to ask, do you have to use Make the Cut with the Zing?

Terry
So far, I have had no white around my images using my method to print & cut (knock on wood) and hopefully, I won't have to keep re-calibrating. I'm using a CraftRobo with SS. As far as I know, you don't have to use MTC with the Zing, but it comes with MTC (full version - not a trial version) and MTC doesn't mess up the p&c like SS, so why not use it?
cat_woman is online now  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 06:40 PM   #10
Forum Fanatic
 
gale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 9,510
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cat_woman View Post
So far, I have had no white around my images using my method to print & cut (knock on wood) and hopefully, I won't have to keep re-calibrating. I'm using a CraftRobo with SS. As far as I know, you don't have to use MTC with the Zing, but it comes with MTC (full version - not a trial version) and MTC doesn't mess up the p&c like SS, so why not use it?
Interesting. I have MTC but have quit using it since my friend's tutorial blog has tutorials with SSDE. Maybe I'll try MTC again just for P&C.
__________________
Wash: "A man walks down the street in that hat, people know he's not afraid of anything."
Jayne: "Da*n straight."


my blog -- my recipes ♥ Victoria's Avon Walk for Breast Cancer site ♥
gale is online now  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off