In the Forums

Register

Today's Posts

Search


Get the Weekly
Inkling
newsletter





Previous Issues

Get Social

Splitcoaststampers on InstagramLike Splitcoaststampers on FacebookFollow Splitcoaststampers on TwitterPit Splitcoaststampers on Pinterest

Sponsored Ads


 
Splitcoaststampers.com - the world's #1 papercrafting community
You're currently viewing Splitcoaststampers as a GUEST. We pride ourselves on being great hosts, but guests have limited access to some of our incredible artwork, our lively forums and other super cool features of the site! You can join our incredible papercrafting community at NO COST. So what are you waiting for?

Join the party at Splitcoaststampers today!

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Leeann34
  • 1 Post By karrenj
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-14-2012, 02:14 PM   #1
Cardstock Collector
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Default Falling out of love with my cameo - can't print & cut - please help?

hello, I've had my cameo about 3 weeks now and have managed to cut quite a bit so far. I love the machine. Last night i thought i'd try the Print and Cut feature. Let's just say the love affair with my cameo came to an abrupt end. When i print and then cut, it cuts way out. The cutting starts at the correct point on the sheet of paper at the top of the printed item but as it cuts further down the page it ends up about 10mm out and going at a different angle.
So far I've made sure i am using the cutting mat, am loading with cutting mat in the load option, am matching it up to the loading line on the left, have selected the correct size of paper, am automatically detecting the registration marks, using plain white paper and still no luck. I've tried looking on the net for some info and have tried all i can find. However i am unable to watch any tutorials as my sound isn't working on my computer. I did try to watch them without sound but that frustrated me even more. LOL. Anything else i am missing or should be doing?
Thank you very much
pirieg01 is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 09:04 PM   #2
Rubber Obsessor
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 146
Default

hmm, so you did print the registration marks? and the machine is detecting them? I have the original machine and that is the most common problem that I have with the print and cut feature - it has a hard time detecting the registration marks. I generally shut my machine off if it ever gets off or doesn't recognize the marks, and that usually solves the problem. I did have an instance when I was doing Christmas tags last year when the machine cut the first row great, then somehow got off for the others. I turned it off, reprinted and it worked fine. I do have to be careful with not having items too close to the edges with my machine, but I'm not sure how that is on the Cameo, and generally with print and cut if you stay within the registration marks it can't get too close to the edge.
__________________
-Michelle
michelleh1 is online now  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 09:40 PM   #3
Glitter Queen
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 20
Default

If you print with it set to no mat and them cut with it set to mat, it will do that.
If that's not it and Michelles suggestions don't work either you should probably call tech support.
__________________
-Kay
Visit my blog CleverSomeday, Geeky ideas for desktop crafting
Interested in the Teresa Collins Stampmaker? Join the TCStampmakerTips Yahoo Group
cleversomeday is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 02:22 AM   #4
Pearl-ExPert
 
lylacfey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,907
Default

I am going to throw out another solution too. I have been a long time Graphtec user. My first Graphtec machine was the Wishblade. I had a great Canon printer. I got perfect Print & Cuts. My printer went kaput and I bought a HP printer. After that I could not get a decent print & cut if I tried. I had your exact same problem. It was so frustrating. I tried everything, asked for help, begged, cried. Nothing. I bought another HP printer different model and I got perfect Print & Cuts.

I contacted HP over it. I did have somebody look into it. Apparently some of the printers have a bug that has a communication error with our die cutting machines. Also in some versions of Windows there is a spooling problem. There is no fix to the spooling problem from Microsoft. This causes the registration marks in the Graphtec machines go awry because of it.

I did think with the new Silhouette Studio this problem was fixed. I have heard a few people still having problems.

I know this was really long. It could be a printer bug problem. If you have access to a different printer I would try your file with that setup.

I hope it's a software glitch though. I am crossing my fingers for you that you can get it fixed.
__________________
DeeAnn

http://www.pinterest.com/faerydreams
lylacfey is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 04:46 AM   #5
Glitter Queen
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 20
Default

If you have the problem Lyla had there is a fix for that too. Use print to PDF and then print from Adobe Reader, foxit, etc. so that Silh Studio never communicates with your printer. I'm glad she brought that up because there are several people on the Silh Plus board that are having to do that.
__________________
-Kay
Visit my blog CleverSomeday, Geeky ideas for desktop crafting
Interested in the Teresa Collins Stampmaker? Join the TCStampmakerTips Yahoo Group
cleversomeday is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 05:24 AM   #6
Rubber Obsessor
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 114
Default

If all else fails, here is a written tutorial. Just scroll down.
Under A Cherry Tree: the Silhouette Cameo Review 3: How to cut to the Cameo with Make-the-Cut
Nevap2 is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 01:19 PM   #7
Cardstock Collector
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Default Thank you all so much

Thank you so much for offering your much needed advice. I am thrilled so many of your experts are there and willing to help. I'm going to get straight to it and try all your suggestions. Thanks a million.
pirieg01 is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 01:55 PM   #8
Cardstock Collector
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Default

cleversomeday - sorry but no idea what you mean. I've gone through my printing options and can't find anything to do with 'mat' or 'no mat'. I did try doing the calibration test and the cuts are nowhere near where they are meant to be!
pirieg01 is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 11:39 AM   #9
Cardstock Collector
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Smile Registration Marks

Just an FYI I was having an issue with my Cameo not finding my registration marks after it had already cut out some print and cuts before. I contacted Silhouette support and they did work with me on trying to get the problem fixed well after 2 days of emails and me trying everything I finally went and got my flashlight and started looking around the blade housing. There was a tiny piece of vinyl that was stuck there that was apparently not allowing the silhouette to detect the registration marks. With patience and tweezers vinyl is gone and my Cameo is cutting like a champ.
Sandwil69 is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 02:02 PM   #10
Pearl-ExPert
 
HeatherHolbrook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: KY
Posts: 2,211
Default

You might need to recalibrate. Not sure of these work with the Cameo but here's instructions for the old CraftRobo/Silhouette:

http://www.silhouetteamerica.com/sup...alibration.pdf
__________________
I'm stamping editor at: http://stamping.craftgossip.com

check out my blog at: www.PisforPaper.com

Last edited by HeatherHolbrook; 06-26-2012 at 02:03 PM.. Reason: sp
HeatherHolbrook is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 03:43 PM   #11
Glitter Queen
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 20
Default

The mat or no mat(carrier) settings are in Silh studio and on the machine itself, not in the print settings.
__________________
-Kay
Visit my blog CleverSomeday, Geeky ideas for desktop crafting
Interested in the Teresa Collins Stampmaker? Join the TCStampmakerTips Yahoo Group
cleversomeday is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 07:57 AM   #12
Rubber Obsessor
 
Carol W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 149
Default

subbing as I may get a Cameo some day and this info could come in handy!
Carol W is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 01:14 PM   #13
Glitter Queen
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Default

go to this thread on MTC and see if any of that helps.

I've about had it, losing my patience. [RESOLVED] - Make The Cut! Forum
Holliewood is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 01:15 PM   #14
Glitter Queen
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Default

I had selected the letter size mat not the 12x12 and that made all the difference.
Holliewood is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 02:47 PM   #15
Kookie Creator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Beloit, WI
Posts: 382
Default

Where you insert the cutting mat on the Cameo, there is a little line all the way to the left. Make sure you line up the cutting mat with that as I was having trouble with it recognizing the cutting marks ---and that made all the difference for me too. It is a piece of cake, now!
Ridiculously Obsessed is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 12:28 PM   #16
Die Cut Diva
 
deeth1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,915
Default

I had the same problem with my Silhouette SD. I did the calibration on ALL of the + on the calibration print out. After I finished the calibration and restarted my machine, they lined up perfectly. Took a bit of trial and error to get each + aligned, but once you get them in cutting on the lines, it works great after that. HTH.
deeth1 is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 12:00 PM   #17
~LN
Rubber Obsessor
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wa
Posts: 186
Default

Sub!
~LN is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 03:53 AM   #18
Mad Swapper
 
shazsilverwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 1,810
Default

I hope this post doesn't break any rules,(telling about another forum), but is a UK forum which is totally about the Graphtec/ Silhouette cutters, and there is a wealth of help & tutorials on there,
UKScrappers,. Many knowledgeable people on there, and access to a wealth of cutting files after a months membership.
__________________
silverwolfcards blog
My gallery
shazsilverwolf is online now  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 01:29 AM   #19
Pearl-ExPert
 
lylacfey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,907
Default

Oh Shaz, I think you broke so many rules, ROFL! I have recommended that one too plenty of times. I agree it's a file treasure trove.
__________________
DeeAnn

http://www.pinterest.com/faerydreams
lylacfey is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 02:04 AM   #20
Mad Swapper
 
shazsilverwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 1,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lylacfey View Post
Oh Shaz, I think you broke so many rules, ROFL! I have recommended that one too plenty of times. I agree it's a file treasure trove.
LOL! I wasn't sure what the etiquette might be for mentioning other forums( I didn't think it would be a bad thing, but better safe than sorry).
__________________
silverwolfcards blog
My gallery
shazsilverwolf is online now  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 07:10 AM   #21
Polyshrink Goddess
 
RosieLP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 625
Default

subbing
__________________
Rosie
My Gallery
RosieLP is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 05:52 AM   #22
Glitter Queen
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 15
Default

I am not seeing any mention of Mac computer users. Is there anyone who is using a Mac (I have an iMac) and am lusting after a Cameo and would really like to hear how it works with a Mac. Thanks in advance for any replies! Sobusy
sobusy is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 06:16 AM   #23
Kookie Creator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Beloit, WI
Posts: 382
Default

I do not have a Mac ---but from what everyone that I have heard of ---love the Cameo with their Mac. You will love the Cameo!
Ridiculously Obsessed is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 08:42 AM   #24
Glitter Queen
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks for the reply. Now I just have to save a lot of pennies, nickels and dimes! sobusy
sobusy is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 06:56 AM   #25
Kookie Creator
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Birdsboro near Reading, PA
Posts: 395
Default

I have a Mac and I have been struggling over this for some time. I originally thought the problem was with the Silhouette Designer software, but I found that when I print from my color inkjet, it's fine, but not so good with my laser printer. I had already given up until I read this post, then I decided I'll figure it out once and for all.

It turns out Silhouette is the greatest as far as support because I found the solution to my problem there, hopefully it will help you too. In Silhouette SDE (probably Studio too) go to File-> Page Setup and in the new dialog look for "Format For" and select your printer. Simple as that.

I hope this solves it for you too.
__________________
Leeann in SE PA
My Blog - "Paper Doll's Creations"
Leeann34 is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
MLYates likes this post.
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 02:21 PM   #26
Creative Crew SU Design Team Alumni
 
karrenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 810
Default

For anyone who is interested, I had this same problem and was getting frustrated. I followed Leeann's suggestion and went to the FAQ on the Silhouette website and tried the different options.

Turns out, my Cameo is not in a position with good enough lighting for the scanner to pick up the registration marks - go figure! I had my DH focus a flashlight on the blade area until the Cameo picked up the registration marks and it worked fine. I'll need a longer term fix like moving my Cameo to a better-lit area of the room but at least it cut properly and my frustration levels dropped!

Thanks to everyone for all the hints and tips.
__________________
_____________
Karren
My Blog
karrenj is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
sprtchick likes this post.
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 09:09 AM   #27
Polyshrink Goddess
 
arubberstamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Darlington PA (NW)
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to arubberstamper
Default

I was going to buy the cameo, until my friend told me about my Eclips and the laser on the Eclips helps so much when we print and cut with our Eclips. You move the laser light (which is housed in the blade assembly) to the reregistration marks and it all lines up so perfect. Love my Eclips. Hope you are able to get help with this problem. I would call the company and ask them for help. Hope it all works out for you.
arubberstamper is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off