Splitcoaststampers

Splitcoaststampers (http://www.splitcoaststampers.com/forums/)
-   Site Support, Technical ?s and Suggestions (http://www.splitcoaststampers.com/forums/site-support-technical-s-suggestions-f12/)
-   -   Malicious attack when clicking on SCS link (http://www.splitcoaststampers.com/forums/site-support-technical-s-suggestions-f12/malicious-attack-when-clicking-scs-link-t567431.html)

CandyStripe 01-18-2013 06:33 AM

Malicious attack when clicking on SCS link
 
1 Attachment(s)
Hi

Just thought I'd let you know that I've been getting notification from my Internet Security system of a malicious attack when I click on google links to SCS, and it's not always the same link.

I may be searching for something and click on the link from that or directly from the main SCS link on google. It's happening fairly regularly so thought I should let you know.

I've taken a screen shot this time in case it helps you in any way.

Thanks

UnderstandBlue 01-18-2013 07:29 AM

Thank you! I will pass this along to our team!

Leeann34 01-18-2013 08:32 AM

CandyStripe, beware as this may be caused by malware in your own computer. The package itself my only run when you open certain types of links or forums. Your antivirus software may merely be detecting the malware's action but not it's presence on your computer so I strongly suggest you run a malware scan in your computer. You can find some free apps at download.com.

CandyStripe 01-19-2013 05:40 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Thanks UnderstandBlue.

Just to let you it has happened again.

Again I've taken a screen shot and it would appear to have come from the same source address.

Leeann I've run a complete scan on my pc and there's nothing there, thanks anyway :) it only ever happens when I come on here.

CandyStripe 01-19-2013 05:57 PM

Just done a bit of snooping around and this IP address is listed as somewhere in Latvia :confused:

UnderstandBlue 01-19-2013 06:00 PM

Thank you so much for that detail!

Who knew Latvia was a spam / malware source?? :)


I've forwarded this info and I'll let you know if we find anything concrete.

UnderstandBlue 01-19-2013 06:01 PM

Hey - your avatar is so cute - is that a stamp? :)

CandyStripe 01-19-2013 06:13 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Thanks yeah it's cute I've attached the bigger version to let you see it.

I don't think you can get that particular one in a stamp (not sure tho) but there are stamps with the little bear - it's called Tatty Teddy from a company called Me To You


Yeah really odd about the Latvia address, as you say who knew eh :D

CandyStripe 01-22-2013 12:50 PM

3 Attachment(s)
Sorry to be a pest but it's still happening.

Here's the latest, this one from Ukraine, we're very popular internationally it would appear:(

And I just happened to be quick enough to catch all the details from his IP


Thanks for anything you can do about this as I'm starting to feel a little vulnerable coming on here now (it definitely is only when I come on here)

Good Luck!

UnderstandBlue 01-22-2013 01:03 PM

Okay - thank you for the deets again!

There are a few possibilities. Malware inserts itself into ad spaces, so it may already be on your computer - definitely run a scan in your AV to rule out something that is living in your browser or on your hard drive. What browser do you use?


You don't need to feel vulnerable, because your AV is doing what it is supposed to be doing and blocking it, but we are still working to see why it's happening here, so please keep sharing these with us while we investigate.

Then at some point we can hopefully define what is causing this.


I use AVG which runs in the background and just stops things without even alerting me - yours obviously is a little more interactive with you, which is good no matter what.

UnderstandBlue 01-22-2013 01:06 PM

Oh and you are NOT a pest - I appreciate it!! :)

sempermom 01-22-2013 04:48 PM

i am getting this too, something about a malicious tool kit?

and all i have been clicking on is threads!

happens too quick to really read it all! so far all scans say i am safe,thank goodness!

Cook22 01-26-2013 01:01 AM

Chrome doesn't like Stampingtop50
 
1 Attachment(s)
Arghh - about three extra clicks for every page just now.

And if it's Chrome, it's not my AV, so I can't be the only one experiencing this.

Cook22 01-26-2013 01:03 AM

I'm not getting it on every page, either, no problem here or in private messages, but in the Teapot Tuesday forum I had a terrible time.

lindylou1220 01-26-2013 01:44 AM

I'm getting this same malware message with Chrome.

Leeann34 01-26-2013 02:08 AM

I am too :(

Paige 01-26-2013 03:53 AM

I'm not able to access the page to send PM's. I get some warning of an attack page reported. I'd do a screen shot, but do not know how!

teegee7617 01-26-2013 04:03 AM

Me too. And Cut at Home's site & MFT's site are triggering it too. Actually Cut at Home's blog is triggering it in my google reader. Weird.

vz5dzh 01-26-2013 04:21 AM

I got it too when coming to the home page. That is what is saved in my favorites. It says it is because of the stampingtop50 inserted into the webpage.

UnderstandBlue 01-26-2013 04:22 AM

Very interesting - Stamping Top 50 is not controlled by us so I will see what our developers say - Darn Saturdays! :)

Cook22 01-26-2013 04:29 AM

It's weird, too, Lydia, because it's marginally intermittent. I had to switch to Firefox for moderating, because the first page I opened up, 11 uploads gave me that message - but for some reason the other two opened perfectly normally.
Anyway, in half an hour I'm going offline till tomorrow evning so hopefully I can get back to Chrome then :D.

UnderstandBlue 01-26-2013 04:29 AM

It's looking like the Stamping Top 50 widget is the culprit - there's another thread on this issue. I'm in Chrome and I'm browsing fine, but I'm going to see if anyone can work on this today. Saturday is tough of course.

Misstreez 01-26-2013 04:48 AM

I've been getting the same message pop up on my screen for months. It only appears when I'm on SCS but not every time. I've not bothered to take note of my route here to see if there is a link. I' was on teh verge of saying sometihng here since it has been going on for so long. I just assumed that since my protection was working I was okay with that.

larue 01-26-2013 04:50 AM

Thank you. I am having the same problem. I use Firefox.

ceramicat1 01-26-2013 04:54 AM

I just started getting this this morning, I didn't have a problem signing on from IE yesterday during the day, but my home PC uses Chrome and it's not happy about scrapbookingtop50.com/, at all.

Thanks!

UnderstandBlue 01-26-2013 04:56 AM

Looks like our peeps have removed it - try to refresh :)

Misstreez 01-26-2013 05:29 AM

I use IE9. When I use the computer tomorrow I'll take more notice of the message.

allee's 01-26-2013 05:54 AM

I'm still getting the screen Sabrina posted in reply #1.

UnderstandBlue 01-26-2013 05:55 AM

Yep - it's in progress. I'll let you know when it's completely gone :)

JBgreendawn 01-26-2013 06:35 AM

Im being blocked from scs for any page or any old email link on googlechrome also ( same as screenshot above.) this post is being made on IE...

just thought I would see if it was happening to everyone.

smileyj 01-26-2013 06:44 AM

I got the message for the first time today! Firefox had me over ride to get here! I will talk to my IT son's and see what they think. Malware is rampant in the IT world right now especially with Apple.

UnderstandBlue 01-26-2013 06:46 AM

It's the Stamping Top 50 widget - see below. We are removing it.

mlhaun 01-26-2013 07:17 AM

I`m getting message also

stampertammy 01-26-2013 09:32 AM

I had to remove that widget from my blog today... was getting the malware message there, and it said that was the culprit. Never liked that thing, anyway.... the number was never as high as I wanted it to be! LOL

UnderstandBlue 01-26-2013 09:33 AM

We are all fixed! Let the weekend begin :)

vz5dzh 01-26-2013 11:34 AM

I didn't get it when I came to the home page this time, but I got it when I went to my PM box.

sprtchick 01-26-2013 01:38 PM

Anyone else having this issue?
 
My mail here on SCS shows I have a message. If I click it I get a red screen showing a malicious virus.

I also tried to send Lydia a PM about it and as soon as I try to PM her I get that screen again showing a malicious virus.

Just trying to see if a Moderator can get rid of that message for me and if anyone else is having an issue.

Blessings.

UnderstandBlue 01-26-2013 01:43 PM

Hi Amber - I moved this to the thread about this in our support forum.

We (among many other sites) had an issue with the stamping top 50 widget containing malware today. We've removed the code, but are still having an issue with the PM page.


We are working on that, but it's tough on the weekend, so you might want to save your PMs for Monday :)

UnderstandBlue 01-26-2013 01:53 PM

Just got an update - it takes Google about 24 hours to rescan the page and clear that warning, so we might not see anything until then either.

But the website is safe :) They scan different pages at different times, so that message is there because of the malware from the Stamping Top 50 widget which is long gone.


So we just need to wait out a google scan.


Here's their link:


Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page for www.splitcoaststampers.com

FMcrafter 01-26-2013 02:29 PM

Just coming here to say the same thing using firefox. I will let my thread know. Thanks


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:51 PM.