Today's Posts

Search

Get the Weekly
Inkling
newsletter

Previous Issues

Splitcoaststampers's privacy policy

Get Social

Splitcoaststampers on InstagramLike Splitcoaststampers on FacebookFollow Splitcoaststampers on TwitterPit Splitcoaststampers on Pinterest

Sponsored Ads

Splitcoaststampers.com - the world's #1 papercrafting community
You're currently viewing Splitcoaststampers as a GUEST. We pride ourselves on being great hosts, but guests have limited access to some of our incredible artwork, our lively forums and other super cool features of the site! You can join our incredible papercrafting community at NO COST. So what are you waiting for?

Join the party at Splitcoaststampers today!

Old 02-27-2018, 10:10 AM   #1  
Insane Embellisher

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Thin Foam for Cling Mount Stamps

I've been using cling mount stamps for 10 years or more and mounting most of them myself. They need maintenance! Thicker cling foam turns yellowish after some years and stops clinging. So for the past few weeks I've been remounting. The cling mount stamps I purchased already mounted all came on thicker gray foam. and I have been mounting my own on this thick foam too. But to save $$ I started buying thin, black cling foam. I don't know yet if thinner cling foam lasts longer than the thicker. But over these many hours remounting I learned thinner cling foam gives better detailed images. Who knows the mysterious ways of cling foam? I used both the Tim Holtz Stamp Positioner and the WE R Precision Press. I have a couple of American Indian complex design background stamps I love but never used because I was unable to get decent images with them. I bought them cling mounted, so they came on thicker foam. When I remounted them on thin foam, I got good images with the Stamp Positioner but great images with the WE R Precision Press. I used Versafine in both experiments. Generally the Stamp Positioner works really well for me. Not so with these very detailed stamp