In the Forums

Register

Today's Posts

Search


Get the Weekly
Inkling
newsletter





Previous Issues

Get Social

Splitcoaststampers on InstagramLike Splitcoaststampers on FacebookFollow Splitcoaststampers on TwitterPit Splitcoaststampers on Pinterest

Sponsored Ads


 
Splitcoaststampers.com - the world's #1 papercrafting community
You're currently viewing Splitcoaststampers as a GUEST. We pride ourselves on being great hosts, but guests have limited access to some of our incredible artwork, our lively forums and other super cool features of the site! You can join our incredible papercrafting community at NO COST. So what are you waiting for?

Join the party at Splitcoaststampers today!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2012, 04:28 PM   #1
Matboard Maniac
 
Rebali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 292
Question Help - computer no longer "recognizes" my camera

The main reason I have not loaded a card in ages is that my computer (an 2001 Dell) and my camera (Kodak C913 also old) no longer communicate. Someimtes error message is "camera in use" but mostly says "camera not found". Problem started when I tried to add another brand of camera (my DGD's)to my computer and now the Kodak one isn't on the list of options anymore. Use Kodak Easyshare to add pictures and store them as well as have them in "My Pictures". Can't buy new. Anyone have any suggestions? Thanks very much.
__________________
Jeanne

My word for the year is Hope. Hope I can get some cards made & posted & my blog updated!!
Proud BRAK and Fan Club member.
http://rebalicreates.blogspot.com
Rebali is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 07:19 PM   #2
Pearl-ExPert
 
iamvics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Rochester, WA
Posts: 2,384
Default

Delete the new camera and start over. You may have to go to Kodak site and update.
__________________
Vic (Victoria) in WA
My blog: http://artbyvic.wordpress.com/
Proud to be a conservative American
iamvics is online now  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 07:50 PM   #3
Pearl-ExPert
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: outback Australia
Posts: 2,295
Default

This has also happened to mine - it started being a bit hot and cold about if it would connect and you'd have to try a couple times but now it doesn't work in any of the computers in the house.

So I bought a card reader and put the card from the camera in it and then put it in the computer. It's an extra step but saves me buying a new camera. Cost about $25 I think.
Metalcharm is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 08:12 PM   #4
Kookie Creator
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Birdsboro near Reading, PA
Posts: 395
Default

I was also going to suggest a card reader, they are less fussy and are read like a disk drive.
__________________
Leeann in SE PA
My Blog - "Paper Doll's Creations"
Leeann34 is offline  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 06:25 PM   #5
Glitter Guru
 
c-mouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: teetering on the brink of everything
Posts: 5,360
Default

Yep,,go with the card reader,,,,and if your computer is a PC,,,use the My Pictures feature to store them.....
I always tell people in my classes to never use the propriatary software that comes with the camera......You lose a great deal of flexibility when you do.....
__________________
c-mouse-If you can't say nuttin nice--don't say nuttin at all. Thumper.
Pansy

Card Sketch Challenge 1-209 done only 283+ to go to be caught up!!!!!

-30 and sweating




c-mouse is online now  
Tweet this Post! Share on Facebook Reddit!! Pin on Pinterest! Share on Google+!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off