Register

Today's Posts

Search

Get the Weekly
Inkling
newsletter

Previous Issues

Get Social

Like Splitcoaststampers on Facebook Follow Splitcoaststampers on Twitter Watch Splitcoaststampers Videos on YouTube

Sponsored Ads

Splitcoaststampers.com - the world's #1 papercrafting community
You're currently viewing Splitcoaststampers as a GUEST. We pride ourselves on being great hosts, but guests have limited access to some of our incredible artwork, our lively forums and other super cool features of the site! You can join our incredible papercrafting community at NO COST. So what are you waiting for?

Join the party at Splitcoaststampers today!

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-20-2011, 08:57 PM   #1
Polyshrink Goddess

Default Spanish teachers: Crafting ideas for Dia de los Muertos

I'm a high school Spanish teacher and October is my favorite month for so many reasons. In class we get to talk about one of the coolest Hispanic holidays....Dia de los Muertos (forgive the lack of accent marks). For other Spanish teachers out there, in Spanish I we're creating little 3D ofrendas by cutting the face out of a cereal box, covering the box with paper and creating 3 interior shelves where they will put minitures or paper cutouts of papel picado, cempazuchil, pan de muerto, candles, etc. The shadow boxes hang in the hallway for a few weeks using 3M command strips.

For Spanish II I bought some medium sized plastic skulls on clearance (tis the season) and I'm spray painting them white or black (each student chooses) Using puff and glitter paints to create calacas like the sugar skulls that are a staple of the holiday. These will also go on display. Can't wait to see what the kids come up with!

As my best friend says, "Stamping....it's cheaper than therapy" to which I add, "Not by much".

My mom was the proud recipient of my first handmade card. Cost $200.

~My Gallery~