Splitcoaststampers

Splitcoaststampers (http://www.splitcoaststampers.com/forums/)
-   Education (http://www.splitcoaststampers.com/forums/education-f294/)
-   -   Teaching older adults (http://www.splitcoaststampers.com/forums/education-f294/teaching-older-adults-t561681.html)

Scrapjanny 09-26-2012 11:35 AM

Teaching older adults

Hi everyone. I'm not a new member here on SCS, but I have never posted in this forum before. I was an English teacher for 14 years, and in the interim, I've done retail work and taught adult stamping/scrapbooking workshops.

This coming Monday, I am starting a new job teaching technology to older adults. Does anyone else here teach adults? Any advice or tips?

TeeGeeDee 10-03-2012 12:20 PM

Congratulations!!!!!

No tips from the teaching side but as someone who took a few technology courses (as an adult) please try to avoid mis-matching students (if pairing or teams are part of the course). I barely learned anything (except from my own studying) in one course because my teammate (one shared computer per team) idn't even know how to use a mouse and it was described as an intermedite-level course.

Your students are lucky to have you!!!

Scrapjanny 10-03-2012 12:50 PM

Thanks, Tina! Each student has his/her own computer, so no worries there. I love it!

luvallthisstampin 10-10-2012 07:49 PM

I taught medical professionals how to use the hospital electronic medical record for years. Some things that we were very mindful of was: ask permission from them before you take over their mouse, use the word click instead of hit, and mind their personal space. That is all I can think of right now.

Congrats on your new job.

Scrapjanny 10-11-2012 03:24 AM

Thanks for the feedback and the congrats. I'll keep those things in mind.

clairehobby 01-07-2013 12:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapjanny (Post 19711944)