Register

Today's Posts

Search

Get the Weekly
Inkling
newsletter

Previous Issues

Get Social

Like Splitcoaststampers on Facebook Follow Splitcoaststampers on Twitter Watch Splitcoaststampers Videos on YouTube

Sponsored Ads

Splitcoaststampers.com - the world's #1 papercrafting community
You're currently viewing Splitcoaststampers as a GUEST. We pride ourselves on being great hosts, but guests have limited access to some of our incredible artwork, our lively forums and other super cool features of the site! You can join our incredible papercrafting community at NO COST. So what are you waiting for?

Join the party at Splitcoaststampers today!

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-19-2010, 06:06 PM   #1
Rubber Obsessor

Default RAK needed

Hello, I have never done this before & feel kind of selfish asking but... my family is being hit yet again by debilitating challenges. Last August my DD contracted H1N1 (swine flu). She was critically ill for weeks: had 5 operations on her right lung, other procedures to insert chest tubes & even EKMO to keep her other organs going while her lungs were trying to be saved. She had over 350 units of blood products in less than 6 weeks time. She was kept in a chemical coma for 5 weeks & it took several more weeks for her to come out of the fog. She needed a trach for many weeks which has taken her vocal ability away (previously she had wanted to perform). She had to learn how to walk & talk all over again. It took weeks to regain strength (she is still not 100%). As you can imagine this was extremely stressful for our family. I struggled to get catastrophic leave to hold my job (& ins); my husband's company told him not to worry, be there for your child, but then 3 months after she left the hospital, they laid him off without reason. When she left the hospital, she needed extensive PT, medical tests & doctors' monitoring. Then I had a severe gall-bladder attack & had to have immediate surgery. No one to ke